h1

My apologies to Jonathan Rouse of Loughborough University

July 26, 2007

So, a little under a year ago I wrote this entry lamenting the fact that if you typed “Jonathan Rouse” into Google (with or without quotes) I was the second place result, behind some guy with my same named who worked for the aforementioned university. 

Well, thanks to the vast left wing conspiracy, since right around that time I’ve been the number one result on Google for searches for Jonathan Rouse, again with or without quotes.  More importantly, that specific entry with its argumentative headline (“Screw you!”) has been the number one result.  Which means anyone coming here via Google lands on that outdated & needlessly agressive entry first.  So, sorry about that, Jonathan Rouse of Loughborough University. I guess you’re not such a bad guy. 

In case, btw, you’re an old friend and you found this page by searching for Jonathan Rouse, and you want to know which Jonathan Rouse this is, it’s:

1) The one in his mid 30’s who works in marketing in the Los Angeles area

2) The one who used to live in Arlington in the mid 1990s

3) The one who spent some time in Oxford, UK in the late 1970s & early 1980s

4) The one who went to Paul Revere Junior High, University High School & UC Irvine

I write this because recently a college roommate I hadn’t spoken to in a decade found the blog and dropped me a note, and it was really cool.  Andre Torrez used to maintain a “people I’m looking for” page on his highly trafficked blog so that if they Googled their names they’d find his page and thus find him, but I’m not looking for anyone, I just think it’s neat when old acquaintances show up.

11 comments

  1. HI Jonathan it’s me, your old buddy from yesterday. Remember we IM’d. Man those were great times. Hope you and the family are all well. Let’s IM again sometime soon.


  2. Damn. You beat me to the joke jk. Well, Screw You jk of Getting to the Joke First University!

    That was lame, but I feel much better now.


  3. You have to understand, this blog is the first entry in my various RSS feeds. ANd I have a serious man crush on Jonson, so I read everything he writes. He is a little nerdy at times and liberal, but opposites attract.


  4. I have a bit of trouble finding “my specific person” when I Google “David Nelson”. It would appear from the thousands of results, that I am “many people” with “many talents”, and I am actually on the terror watch list ;)

    http://archives.californiaaviation.org/airport/msg26610.html


  5. 1) JK, calling someone nerdy right after describing your variety of RSS feeds requires a Texas-sized lack of self-awareness.

    2) Mr Nelson, you’re facing the curse of the popular name. Has that terror watch list thing ever actually prevented you from flying?


  6. jk you stop that man-crush for my lunch date this instant!

    Nelson, to avoid getting stopped at the airport just tell them that you’re not Dave Nelson but rather Tanzania Dave. Simple!


  7. So, David Nelson. How do we know you’re not THAT David Nelson? Huh? Huh?

    Please step to the side of the blog for additional wanding.


  8. Oh…Wanding! That sounds fun. I’ve never been prevented from flying, but have stood to the side many times. It seems to have eased in the last few years.

    Now…about my “additional wanding”…where should we start! :)


  9. The RSS I picked up from you. Without you i would not have been aware. See how important you are?


  10. My drivers license photo looks like NSA imagery from Pakistani training camp. (My ancestors are Eastern European, so go figure). Anyway, I haven’t taken a single flight since 9/11 without being “randomly selected” for additional security. Every freakin’ time.


  11. […] forced to tone down my rhetoric against the Jonathan Rouse of Longborough via the following post: My apologies to Jonathan Rouse of Longborough University.  But as of today it appears that the Googledamage is irrevocably done, as I noticed this most […]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

