Archive for November 19th, 2007

h1

Holy crap, I still have a blog?

November 19, 2007

I’m not sure why, but I seem to have forgotten that I had a blog over the last week or so.  Sorry for the slim updates.  I think everyone who reads this thing either had a baby or is just about to have a baby, so I’m pretty sure you’ve found other things to occupy your time.  If you haven’t had a baby in the last couple of weeks, you totally should.  November babies are awesome, especially famous ones like Bruce Lee, Jimi Hendrix & Chick Hearn.  Wait, what’s that? MY birthday?  Yes, now that you mention it, my birthday IS coming up.  The 27th, actually.

Back in the early days of the web, there was a site called something like “The world birthday database” and people would voluntarily go there and put in their name, email address & birthday, and occasionally strangers would send you email on your birthday wishing you well. Then, in phase two, benevolent dorks wrote scripts to parse the page & automate a daily birthday greeting to everyone on their birthdays.  Seconds later, advertisers figured out how to harvest the page for contactable data & pretty soon the entire page was gone.

In the 1990s, when I was asked for my email address on questionable warez/mp3 sites,  I would always give my address without hesitation, ’cause after all, I could just delete any spam I received.  Oh, sweet innocent days, how I miss them.