h1

The best 90 days of the year

August 12, 2006

I think people are essentially either Spring/Summer folk, or Fall/Winter lovers.  Myself, unsurprisingly, a fan of the Autumn & Winter.  The days of October through December encompass the NFL season, the NBA season, my wife’s birthday, Halloween, Thanksgiving, my birthday, my daughter’s birthday, Christmas & New Years.  Other than the 4th of July, that’s pretty much every annual event that I really love.  I’m a hugely sentimental fool, and I enjoy nothing more than tradition.  That’s been greatly enhanced by the arrival of my daughter Emerson. 

When I grew out of trick or treats, there was a 20 year period where Halloween ceased to be wonderful.  Briefly, in high school & college, it meant parties, but the magical aspect of it was gone.  Now that I own a house for the first time (as opposed to an apartment, behind a security gate, where no trick or treaters could come), it’s one of the highlights of my year, spooking the place up, getting candies, giving ’em out to kids, and soon enough, taking little Emma from door to door in my neighborhood.  I hate to be so maudlin, but I just can’t wait for it.  And don’t get me started on Christmas, or this entry would go on for pages.  Boring, boring pages.

I think summer people tend to be more outdoorsy types, baseball fans, surfers, backpackers, etc.  People of sunnier dispositions, perhaps.  But as this comic reminds us, “Outside” is where Bears are.  Give me a cold winter’s day & a fire in the fireplace, clouds outside and a couple of pugs at my feet, any day.  I only wish I lived somewhere with seasons.  Sigh… maybe someday…

2 comments

  1. I live in Cleveland, and everyone’s thrilled that it’s 90 degrees outside. Meanwhile, I’m thinking, ‘Can I put up my halloween stuff in September?’ and I’m ready to get out my sweaters and coats for snow.

    I’m with ya.


  2. I have always been an autumn person — you know, rebirth, new beginnings, new opportunities, interesting smells in the air. And MY TIME is starting any day now!



Leave a comment