h1

Upon reflection, I may have been a bad teammate

August 10, 2007

We have a videogame room at our office with all the major consoles in it, and sometimes my co-workers & I will play games against each other on our lunch break, which has the bad side effect of encouraging sabotage.  The worst example of this I can think of was the time I came back early from lunch & logged in as my co-workers’ characters on the Nintendo and then proceeded to bowl 10 frames of straight gutterballs for both of them to ensure that they would lose their magical star-colored bowling balls in Wii Sports, and I would be the only player with a “Pro” ball.  It kinda made me laugh at the time, but then later I felt bad about it, but now when I think about it I kinda laugh again.  And feel bad about it.

To avoid this kind of unpleasantness, we also play games where we are on the same team.  One of the more popular ones has us all play as soldiers trying to eliminate the forces of a despot in Central America & be airlifted to safety.  I’m not sure why, but on repeated occasions when the final villain has been dispatched and the console tells us that the choppers are coming in to bring us safely home, I invariably shoot both my teammates in the back before the helicopter can land.  I don’t do it EVERY time, because this would be predictable, and thus defeat the element of surprise that I rely on when killing my own team members.  But I’ve done it more than once.

I’m not sure what it is about the videogame room, but I suspect it brings out the worst in me.

4 comments

  1. You know what would really be funny? Next time that the helicopter is coming to take you to safety, throw them off completely by actually shooting them in the back with a real gun. They’d never see THAT coming!

    Well, the second guy would for a couple of seconds.


  2. Now the question is, do you hump their corpses after murdering them, a la Halo?


  3. You know how I know you’re gay? You hump corpses after shooting them.


  4. That is the post of the month! I nearly shart myself.



Leave a Reply

