h1

Mexicans – Are They Taking Over?

April 2, 2008

Anecdotally, living in Los Angeles it’s pretty clear that Mexicans are overrunning the city.  Entire neighborhoods are blanketed by Spanish language advertising, which is conflicting for me because I love advertising but I hate things I can’t understand.  Perhaps most shocking are the results of my own household census where we’ve gone from 100% Causcasian in 1998 to 66% Hispanic.

But whether you believe this is happening (you’re right) or not (you’re wrong), the question remains – is it intentional?  I believe this print advertisement for Absolut vodka currently running in a Mexico City periodical answers that question:

Ay Dios Mio!

Part of me is distressed to see the naked ambition for conquest, but another part of me is delighted to see U.S. advertisements in English South of the border.  Hah!  Take that, Jorge!  Como Te Gusta Estas Manzanas!!?!?!

4 comments

  1. You’re really bucking for that divorce, aren’t you?


  2. Yes, they are taking over. Since I love tacos, carne asada, Corona with lime, and illegal fireworks, this event couldn’t make me happier.


  3. Here is Texas we have little stands where you can rent a “Mexican” by the hour to do what tasks you yourself are too lazy to do.

    Its kinda weird at first, but you get over really fast when you seen how efficient they are.


  4. Update:
    Who knew there’d be a backlash?

    http://www.latimes.com/news/nationworld/world/la-fg-absolut6apr06,0,308550.story



Leave a Reply

