h1

Tough Luck, Midgets

June 2, 2008

This article by the National Bureau of Economic Research (which is apparently a real organization and not just something I made up) says, in summary:

It has long been recognized that taller adults hold jobs of higher status and, on average, earn more than other workers. A large number of hypotheses have been put forward to explain the association between height and earnings. In developed countries, researchers have emphasized factors such as self esteem, social dominance, and discrimination. In this paper, we offer a simpler explanation: On average, taller people earn more because they are smarter.

The earning part doesn’t concern me, as I’m doing alright in that department.  The intelligence news, on the other hand, is somewhat troubling for me, as I am of low to medium stature, as far as dudes go.  When I went to see Rage Against the Machine, I remember thinking that everyone there was WAY bigger than me, but I consoled myself that I was way smarter than them.  This recent study has me re-evaluting my position on this issue.

However,  it is delightful ammunition in the ongoing war of household chores between me & the missus.  Let’s just say that someone is suddenly going to be “far too smart to do the dishes.”

One comment

  1. Yeah, that will work. Good luck.



Leave a Reply

