h1

7 Songs

June 13, 2008

My friend Chris tagged me to continue a webmeme of sharing your 7 “heaviest rotation” songs, and while I normally don’t participate in blogmemes, I love talking about music.   The official instrx are: “List seven songs you are into right now. No matter what the genre, whether they have words, or even if they’re not any good, but they must be songs you’re really enjoying now, shaping your spring. Post these instructions in your blog along with your 7 songs. Then tag 7 other people to see what they’re listening to.”

I’ll happily list the seven songs in my constant playlist, and open myself up to the (deserved) shame that comes with them, but I break the meme in that I won’t tag seven other bloggers to continue the party, as I couldn’t take the rejection if they refused my tagging. Little known jonsonfact: I’m super sensitive.

First, Lily Allen’s cover of The Pretender’s Don’t Get Me Wrong. It’s not great or anything, and I don’t really like the original that much. I just love Lily Allen so much it verges on stalking. Seriously, if I had a Trapper Keeper notebook, the outside of it would be covered with hearts and written in each heart would be Lily Allen-Rouse Jonathan Allen.

Track Two is The Ting Ting’s Great DJ. Some people might not like this one, but that’s only because some people are idiots. This song is awesome.

Breaking the chick singer trend, the next track is Lord I’m Discouraged, off the new Hold Steady album due out in July (But it’s June – how do I have the song? I’M FROM THE FUTURE). I’m a sucker for songs about lost causes & women who can’t help themselves.

Track Four is Evil Bee, by Menomena. It’s not new or anything, but I fucking love this song. Mostly because of the video, so here that is:

Track Five is Ballantines, by Aimee Mann.  About the only track I like on her disappointing new album.  I mostly like the weird background vocals, which are sung by “San Francisco Songwriter Sean Hayes,” who is apparently not the same Sean Hayes that starred on Will & Grace.

Track Six is If I ever leave this world alive by Flogging Molly.  I recently went on a run of watching every episode of Weeds, which I hadn’t seen before, and really liked, which led me to get the soundtrack, which this is from.  It’s not as stomping & loud as the usual Flogging Molly or Dropkick Murphys or other drunken Irish Pogue-wannabees, but it’s not bad.

We’ll close with A&E by Goldfrapp.  It’s not as sexy/poppy as her last album nor as ethereal as her earlier stuff, but it’s still incredibly catchy, and the video is pretty awesome too: 

 

3 comments

  1. Because I can’t help but throw some logs on your stalking fire, I did see Lily Allen (and the rest of her band) at the Sunset Blvd. Guitar Center last year. Looked like they were spending some advance $$$ in the vintage guitar room in the back.


  2. You and Koval are the only 2 people I’ve ever heard mention Goldfrapp. He’s quite into her. (Or is it them?)


  3. I don’t like TOO much Goldfrapp, but the stuff I like, I really, really like. There’s a song called Number One from the previous album, and I literally couldn’t listen to it without wearing some sort of protective gear because it was so sexy I would spontaneously start leaking fluids.



Leave a Reply

