h1

Schizophrenic Cats

August 22, 2008

Louis Wain’s famous descent into schizophrenia as documented via his paintings raises an interesting question: what’s the blogger’s analogue?  Would anyone notice a blogger slowly going insane from his postings?

So that we’re clear, this isn’t some desperate cry for help. I’m pretty sure I’m not going insane or anything.  But nowdays, with Flickr/Twitter/Facebook/Blogs/etc, the chains of community are strong enough that it had me thinking, there are a LOT of outlets for people to notice if something suddenly changed in your personality, provided you’d established the social network in the first place.

If I was a little more clever/bored, I would start just adding random quirks into my writing.  Unfortunately, they’d probably be about stuff like getting raped by a bear, and then, who would ever notice?

One comment

  1. Denial is the first stage.

    “So that we’re clear, this isn’t some desperate cry for help. I’m pretty sure I’m not going insane or anything.”



Leave a Reply

