h1

Happy Birthday, LBC

December 17, 2008

I tucked in my 2 year old for the last time last night; I knew that when she woke up she’d be three & my days of reading bedtime stories to my 2 year old were done, and that I was that much closer to not reading bedtime stories at all.  It made me understand why people have a second kid, and a third, etc.

We have a ritual we’ve established through practice.  The missus tucks her in, then she says “now daddy’s turn,” & I go in & tell her a story & say goodnight, to which she replies “Now stay with me a while,” and I sit quietly at the foot of her bed for somewhere between a minute to up to five minutes while she drifts off.

Last night when we got to the “now stay with me” part, I never wanted to leave the room.  For all the talk of the terrible twos, this last year has been the best, happiest year of my life, and I can honestly say I had no idea I could ever love someone so much as I love this little kid.

9 comments

  1. Fag.


  2. jk…

    It’s the same with my daughter (who’s now 8), but the storyteller alternates nightly between my wife and I.

    Enjoy, man, because they grow up really fast. I’m dreading the night when she tells us to get the fuck out of her room and leave her alone.


  3. very nice, jonson. congrats on the big 3.


  4. Hey! That wasn’t funny! I wasn’t even mildly offended or shocked. What I did get was somewhat choked up. I want my money back!!!

    Happy Birthday Emma!!


  5. You just made me cry.


  6. That was my favorite post from you….EVER.

    My girls just turned 6 a couple of weeks ago, so I completely get what you are saying. I thought I knew what love really WAS until I had kids.

    As it turns out, I only LIKE my wife. 😉


  7. That made me cry, too….


  8. GeeZ! I was all choked up until I read the perfect response from Chris. Thanks for not making me have to wipe my eyes in the office.

    Well said Jonson. I was at my 4 year olds first Xmas pagent where he sang some songs. The whole time I’m fighting tears of joy back, “Don’t cry you big FAG!!! The other Dads will ridicule you forever.” Then he started digging in his nose and the moment was gone.

    They do grow up way too fast.


  9. sweet



Leave a Reply

