Archive for January 29th, 2009

h1

Projecting into the Future

January 29, 2009

Five years ago, if you would have shown me a vision of how I would spend the evening of January 28th, 2009, I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have believed it.  There’s a children’s book called Fancy Nancy, about a girl who likes things that are fancy, and who fancies up her otherwise non-fancy parents & siblings.  Last night when I called the missus to tell her I was on the way home, the cupcake answered and said “Daddy, do you want to be fancy with us?” which is a quote from the book, which I’ve read her a couple hundred times.

Of course, there’s only one answer to that question, so when I walked through the door I was swaddled in fancifying robes & vestiments until I was somewhere between mid-70s era Elton John & early 1990’s Stevie Nicks on the fancification scale.

It got me thinking that if a videotape of the evening had been shown to my 2004 self, it would be the most unlikely development I could imagine, and by comparison, you could today show me a video of me in the year 2014 living in Iowa, fighting crime for a living with my robotic dog sidekick and I’d have to admit it was possible.

It’s an amazing world when you think about it.

