Archive for January 31st, 2009

h1

My Daughter, the Racial Stereotype

January 31, 2009

First, let me state that I’m not going to write about the LBC on EVERY post, this just happened to be top of mind.  So, some people ask me what the secret to my amazing level of inappropriate behavior is, and I think in a nutshell, it’s that I never stop to evaluate my actions as a whole.  When you look at any one incident, you can explain it away as a joke or drunken antic.  But last night, as my daughter was singing the Frito Bandito song to herself, it occurred to me the number of things that I’ve done with her that play upon her racial heritage in a less than flattering light.

  1. Took a photo of her, photoshopped a bandito mustache on it, and entitled it “Bandito Baby!”
  2. Taught her the Frito Bandito song by showing her the 1960’s commercial repeatedly.
  3. Played a few Speedy Gonzales cartoons in the hopes that she would start to yell “Eepaa!  Arriba, Andele, andele!” when she races around the house.  This totally worked, by the way.

Hmm, taken as a group, it might appear that I have some issues to work through.  By the way, it was in performing the last action that I discovered an amusing bit of trivia – in addition to being wildly insensitive, the Speedy Gonzales cartoons were a little subversive.  When Speedy’s cousin Slowpoke Rodriguez shows up all slow-talking & mysteriously hungry, 2:18 seconds into the cartoon, he sings openly about his sadness that he has no more marijuana to smoke.  “la cucaracha, la cucaracha, ya no puede caminar porque no tiene, porque le falta marijuana que fumar.”  I guess not enough people spoke Spanish in the 1950s when the cartoon was released?  Or everyone knew, and they just assumed all hispanic charicatures loved pot.

