h1

Jimmy Smits is a man of the people

February 3, 2009

This grainy, tiny cameraphone is hardly conclusive proof, so you’ll just have to believe me that when the missus, the cupcake & I went to the supermarket last night we ran into Jimmy Smits, who apparently goes shopping on his own, just like regular people. He’s a lonesome populist.

Lest there be any doubt that it was him, I will point out that 1) The missus identified him, and she’s damn near flawless at that skill, and 2) He said “yes” when I asked him “hey, are you Jimmy Smits?”

Later, as he walked by my daughter when she got tired of sitting in the shopping cart in the same aisle for too long, she said very loudly, “Come on daddy, Andale, Andale!”. I only wish I was joking.

The missus later confirmed that he shops there all the time, so maybe next time he sees her & the cupcake, he’ll remember, hey, there’s that woman whose daughter talks like Speedy Gonzales.

4 comments

  1. Cool. Amazing how popular he is but how he manages to fly under the radar.


  2. The highlight of the evening was the mini LA Law reunion that took place in the parking lot of the supermarket when Corbin Bernson offered to wash his car windows for $1.


  3. I thought this was going to be a post about how similar the last story line of West Wing was to real life.


  4. I wanted to elect him after the West Wing, and was glad he got offed in Dexter. That must mean he has talent. And he’s tall – I’m told girls like that. Now if I was only sure he cooked his own food, and if he smiled at your tactless Cupcake, I could say he was on my top five…



Leave a Reply

